Things To Do

CARAD Rhayader Museum and Gallery

family-friendly
parking-on-site
rainy-day-activity
wheelchair-accessible
Discover your roots_Mid Wales
Rhayader Museum and Gallery, East Street, Rhayader LD6 5ER

Discover the stories of Rhayader and its region. Experience the rich heritage of the area through oral history, film, photographs and activities. Share your stories to leave for future generations.


Geolocation
Opening Times: Tues - Sat 10.00am - 4.00pm
Entry Cost: Adults- £4 Concessions- £3
Contact: Rachael Storer
Tel: 01597 810561/810192

Rhayader Museum and Gallery looks small and compact from the outside but, once inside, you will find a downstairs temporary Exhibition Gallery where there are a variety of exhibitions throughout the year. The building is fully accessible with a lift to the upper floor.

Upstairs in the Museum Gallery there are films to watch, and more than 50 oral histories to listen to along with a vast array of objects to look at. All of which help to tell the story of Rhayader from the early ages of man though to the current generation of people who live in and around the town.

Rhayader Museum and Gallery is run by CARAD, an independent charity. Currently, we charge an entry fee because we like to be able to use the money we raise to develop new exhibitions and projects.


Rhayader_MuseumRhayader_MuseumRhayader_MuseumRhayader_Museum

St Clements to Nantgwyllt Walk

family-friendly
parking-at-start-point
pets-welcome
rainy-day-activity
suitable-for-walking
St Clements Church Rhayader

The first section of the trail begins at St Clements Church in Rhayader (Grid ref SN 962682), and follows the Elan Valley up as far as the church at Nantgwyllt, a distance of 5 miles.


Geolocation
Route Name: Gwastedyn Church Trail - Section 1
Length of Route: 5
Walking Difficulty: Easy
Start Location: St Clement's Church Rhayader

St Clement’s Church, Rhayader

St Clement’s is an imposing 17th Century building much altered by the Victorians overlooking the River Wye adjacent to the old Welsh Rhayader Castle.  The Church is of Norman origins, probably built by the Mortimer family who captured and restored the castle in 1200.  The dedication is to St Clement and this could have stemmed from the fact that the Normans were rebuilding the Church of St Clemente in Rome at the same time.  A large cast iron fence surrounds the reburied remains of the garrison of the castle, one of whom was said to be a giant.  The Church has some very fine stained glass windows.

Eglwys Sant Clement, Rhaeadr Gwy

Mae Eglwys Sant Clement yn adeilad mawreddog o’r ail ganrif ar bymtheg a gafodd ei newid yn helaeth yng nghyfnod Fictoria.  Mae’n edrych i lawr dros afon Gwy ac wedi ei lleoli ger hen Gastell Cymreig Rhaeadr Gwy.  Mae’r Eglwys yn tarddu o’r cyfnod Normanaidd, ac fe’i hadeiladwyd mae’n debyg gan y teulu Mortimer a gipiodd ac a adferodd y Castell ym 1200.  Cyflwynwyd yr eglwys i Sant Clement a gallai hyn fod wedi deillio o’r ffaith fod y Normaniaid yn ailadeiladu Eglwys Sant Clement yn Rhufain yr un pryd.  Mae ffens fawr o haearn bwrw yn amgylchynu gweddillion garsiwn y castell.  Cafodd aelodau’r garsiwn hwn eu hail-gladdu, ac yn ôl y chwedl roedd un ohonynt yn gawr.  Mae gan yr Eglwys rai ffenestri lliw gwych iawn.

The Radnor Ring - Cycling

parking-at-start-point
rainy-day-activity
suitable-for-cycling
suitable-for-moutain-biking
Sustrans Radnor Ring

The Radnor Ring Regional Cycle Route 25 
The Radnor Ring is a delightful 86 mile scenic ride, linking the small towns of Rhayader, Llandrindod Wells, Presteigne and Knighton. A circular route on quiet country lanes crossing some of Mid Wales' most spectacular scenery with off-road mountain biking alternatives.


Route Name: Radnor Ring
Length of Route: 84 miles
Cycling Difficulty: Moderate
Start Location: Rhayader

An 84 mile circular cycle route around the old county of Radnorshire. The route follows a mixture of country lanes, river valleys, traffic-free trails and mountain roads, offering spectacular views of some of Mid Wales' most awe-inspiring scenery.It passes through some stunning landscapes, climbs over some strenuous passes and even has an optional off road section for those that would prefer to ride it on a mountain bike.

The route is signed mainly signed as National Route 825 but takes in some of National Route 8 (Lon Las Cymru) between Rhayader and Newbridge -on-Wye. The route predominantly runs through Powys but in the East, the route creeps back and forth over the Welsh English border in to Herefordshire passing through Kington, Presteigne and Knighton.

The towns and villages offer plenty of accommodation options and the whole route is dotted with country inns that provide perfect places to stop for lunch. As an introduction to cycle touring in Wales, this would be a hard one to beat.

Elan & Claerwen Valleys

family-friendly
parking-at-start-point
parking-on-site
pets-welcome
rainy-day-activity
suitable-for-cycling
suitable-for-moutain-biking
suitable-for-walking
wheelchair-accessible
Craig Goch Elan Valley Dams

To the west of Rhayader is the Elan Valley Estate, owned by Welsh Water and managed by the Elan Valley Trust, the series of reservoirs set in the outstanding scenery of the Elan and Claerwen Valleys have created a home for wildlife and a place to inspire us all.


Geolocation

Walking: With 72 sqaure miles of Elan Valley Estate, walking routes in this our part of the Cambrian Mountains is spectacular. See a selection of the Elan Valley walks here.

History: In the 19th century, at the time of the Industrial Revolution Joseph Chamberlain, then leader of Birmingham City Council, set about finding a clean water supply for the City.

The Elan and Claerwen Valleys had been identified by the engineer James Mansergh as having the best potential for water storage - with
• An average annual rainfall of 72 inches (1830mm). 
• Narrow downstream valleys which made building the dams easier. 
• Impermeable bedrock preventing the water seeping away. 
• Altitude - the area is mostly higher than Birmingham enabling the water to be transported by gravity alone, without the need to be pumped.

An Act of Parliament was passed for the compulsory purchase of the area and in 1893 the building work began. Over 100 occupants of the Elan Valley had to move, only landowners received compensation payments. Many buildings were demolished, among them 2 manor houses, 18 farms, a school and a church (which was replaced by the corporation as the Nantgwyllt Church).

A railway line was constructed to transport the workers and thousands of tonnes of building material each day and a village of wooden huts was purpose built to house many of the workers on the site of the present Elan Village.
The Elan Valley Dams were officially opened by King Edward VII and Queen Alexandra on 21st July 1904, and the later built Claerwen Dam was opened by Queen Elizabeth II in 1952.

Present Day: The dams and reservoirs of the Elan Estate are situated within an area of outstanding scenic beauty. They provide a lasting amenity in their own right for visitors to enjoy. The protection of the water catchment area to prevent pollution of the reservoirs has safeguarded the habitats of numerous species of flora and fauna and now the 70 square miles of moorland, bog, woodland, river and reservoir are of national importance for their diversity of lower plants (ferns, mosses, lichens and liverworts) and the Estate is the most important area for land birds in Wales.

Distance from town centre: 3

Valley View Falconry

family-friendly
parking-at-start-point
parking-on-site
suitable-for-walking
wheelchair-accessible
Valley View Falconry
Valley View Upper, Llwyn Lane, Nantmel, Nr Rhayader, LD6 5PE

Falconry handling experience.


Geolocation
Opening Times: By booking only
Entry Cost: See our website
Contact: Valley View Falconry
Tel: 07849 608 633

Sessions last roughly 2 hours and you will get to meet our variety of birds of prey from around the world. We also do gift vouchers. Various breeds of owls, hawks etc. We also have Alpaca's, Rheas, Donkeys, Sheep, any breeds of chickens, Pygmy goats. Tea, coffee refreshments available.

Distance from town centre: 4

Pages